What a weekend !!!


I spent the weekend at Maelstrom Games playing in two tournaments. Saturday was Iron Wrath III and Sunday was the Hardcore Series II Heat. Got to admit on Sunday evening I was toast after playing 9 competative games over the weekend. Of those 9 games I managed to win 3, but could have been more.

Saturday and Iron Wrath III.

First game was against Ron and his Skorne. Sorry Rob can’t remember a lot about this game (was a long weekend), but can remember I lost by caster kill. Next was another Rob and his Legion, another lose by scenario. Then the 50 point game of the day against Adam and Cryx, and another lose by scenario.

So after three games all with Thyra I needed a win, so eKroess for the last game against Bruce and his Khador. Managed a caster kill with kreoss charging eButcher.

At the end of Saturday playing 3 competitive games with Thyra and losing all 3, I wasn’t looking forward to the Hardcore on Sunday. Got to admit, I wished I could change the list and take pKreoss who I took last year and had some good games with.

Sunday and Hardcore Series II Heat I.

First game and Marc with his Protectorate of Menoth, lost by caster kill. Although Thyra did failed her charge into Kreoss my less than a millimeter in turn two (needless to say we were very careful in measuring!).

Next Rob and Trollbloods which I won by caster kill. Rob forget Thyra was Stealth with Occulation and moved his Warlock into her charge range (15 inches) for a ranged assassination, needless to say the Warlock died next turn due to Silence of Death (with no transfers and no Tough).

My third game was against James with Cynar and another caster kill win! This time an Enlivened Avatar moved into range of Brisbane, and he died next turn. I really enjoy playing with two Enlivened Warjacks!

This put me on two wins and table 4 with 2 games to go. So it was up against Lewis and Legion in game 4, which unfortunately resulted in a loss by caster kill.

Going into the last game it was possible to definitely qualify for the finals with a win, and I ended the day against Phil and his Cygnar (eHaley). The Reckoner managed to get ten wounds on Haley whilst under the influence of her feat, but the Ancillary Attack failed to hit needing 9’s. The Thunderhead then killed Thyra with the auto hits. Which meant a long wait for the round to end and the results to be announced before I knew if I had qualified for the finals.

The top 16 players qualify from 3 heats, so I was in with a chance. I did qualify in 16th place, so its the Hardcore Series II finals in December for me, and after my performance during the day with Thyra I will definitely be taking her maybe with a few tweaks to the list!

Here is my Thyra Hardcore list, which will probably be tweaked before the finals in December. I am going to consider adding another Reckoner, and possibly a unit of Vengers for the speed to keep up with Thyra, as I found Thyra was bound by the speed of the Bastions.

Thyra, Flame of Sorrow (*6pts)
Reckoner (8pts)
Hierophant (2pts)
Avatar of Menoth (11pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Exemplar Bastions (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & 2 Honor Guard (4pts)
Eiryss, Angel of Retribution (3pts)
High Paladin Dartan Vilmon (3pts)
Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan (2pts)
Paladin of the Order of the Wall (2pts)
Paladin of the Order of the Wall (2pts)
Saxon Orrik (2pts)
The Covenant of Menoth (2pts)
The Wrack (3 wracks) (1pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)

Having checked the UK Warmachine/Hordes rankings on Monday I have moved up the rankings from 123rd to 90th. So thats a big jump and a tick against one of my new years resolutions to improve my UK Warmachine/Hordes ranking on Rankings HQ.

Like the post title says….

What a weekend !!!

 

Leave a Reply

