UK Hardcore Series I – List Changes


I am struggling to build a list and stick with it up until the tournament in June.  At the moment this the the list I have played the most games with recently.  The only difference from the original list is that the Crusader has been swapped for a Revenger.  I felt that I needed an Arc Node in the Kill Box scenario whereby Kreoss would not be exposed to cast spells.

 This is the list as it stands at the moment…

High Exemplar Kreoss
Revenger
Reckoner
Avatar of Menoth
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts)
Exemplar Bastions (Leader and 4 Grunts)
Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & 2 Honor Guard
Eiryss, Angel of Retribution
High Paladin Dartan Vilmon
Paladin of the Order of the Wall
Paladin of the Order of the Wall
The Covenant of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth

But after having a few games I am not happy with losing the Crusader.  I feel that in Hardcore my opponents will be taking heavy Warjack/Warbeast lists, and I will need the Crusader to help deal with those.  Also the number of activations I have currently in the list is a concern.

So what have I considered?

First losing Visgoth Juviah Rhoven and a Paladin would give me the available points for a Crusader.  But I would lose the benefits which Rhoven brings, plus I like Paladins especially with High Paladin Dartan Vilmon.

Next I considered losing the Bastions, reducing the Bastions down to minimum size makes them very much less effective.  So now I can include a Crusader and a Hierophant.  I like the idea of a Hierophant, which can help to keep the Covenant alive a little longer.  But now I lose the sheild and holding up ability that the Bastions usually provide.

Lastly losing Eiryss and reducing the Bastions down to minimum size, would give me the available points for a Crusader.  If the Bastions are mostly used a sheild for holding up my opponent, then maybe three will do the job?

Now I ask myself what is a MUST HAVE in the list, so here it is Revenger, Reckoner, Avatar of Menoth, Choir of Menoth, High Paladin Dartan Vilmon, both Paladins, The Covenant and both Vassals.

So what is going to be the list for the next couple of practise games?  I have decided on reducing the Bastions down to minimum size, so that left me three points over.  Eiryss was the obvious option to lose.  But I already had the ability the strip Focus/Fury in Visgoth Juviah Rhoven, and wanted to keep Eiryss for the time being.  So dropped Visgoth Juviah Rhoven and added some Wracks.

Now the list looks like this.  I will be sticking with this list for the next couple of games!

High Exemplar Kreoss
Revenger
Crusader
Reckoner
Avatar of Menoth
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts)
Exemplar Bastions (Leader and 2 Grunts)
Eiryss, Angel of Retribution
High Paladin Dartan Vilmon
Paladin of the Order of the Wall
Paladin of the Order of the Wall
The Covenant of Menoth
The Wrack (3 wracks)
Vassal of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth

Leave a Reply

