UK Hardcore Series I – Practise


Played my first game of Hardcore practise for the UK Hardcore Series that Thursday evening, and had a nightmare against Tyler and his Khador. Tyler wasn’t playing timed turns, but I was. Seven minute turns is really difficult for me at the moment, because I still need to learn how to play the army list. For instance in one turn I allocated the Reckoner three focus, to then notice at the end of the turn once the time had run out that the Reckoner was still on three focus!

However I have purchased the remaining miniatures needed, being Epic Eiryss and another Vassal. I was even considering changing this into a unit of Knights Exemplar, and with Epic Kreoss instead. But I have stuck with Epic Eiryss and another Vassal. Hopefully these will arrive soon, so I can start building and painting. There is still forty days to go until the tournament, so plenty of time to paint and get more practise in.

So for the next couple of weeks, it all only Kill Box practise for me with the list. Hardcore practise will come later once I am more confident with the list. However I will start timing the turns, to see if I am getting quicker over the next couple of weeks.

Saturday evening and myself and Tyler had another game of fifty points killbox. I lost again, currently experiencing my longest losing streak this year. The time of my turns were 2:18, 9:27 and 15:22. Turns two and especially three were over the seven minute limit. So a lot of work to do in getting the times down to under seven minutes. Another concern was not popping Kreoss’s feat in either turn two or three.

So after some discussion and thought I am changing the list slightly and including my Revenger for the Arc Node ability, taking out the Crusader. I need to be casting Cleansing Fire on the infantry units early on. Especially on the advance deploy units in turn one.

In terms of playing the list I have changed the main role of the Covenant. Its primary role early on will be to provide continuous fire effect for the Cleansing Fires cast by Kreoss.

Eiryss and the Vassal didn’t arrive in the post, so still waiting on the miniatures. Will be having another game or two on Tuesday evening, so lets see what happens!

However on Sunday I had another change of mind! A Hierophant and The Wracks were included for the extra focus, unfortunately dropping Eiryss from the list. I could include Eiryss by dropping the Bastions down to a minimum unit of three, but will need to give this some more thought.

At the moment this is the list I will be playing on Tuesday.

High Exemplar Kreoss
Revenger
Reckoner
Hierophant
Avatar of Menoth
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts)
Exemplar Bastions (Leader and 4 Grunts)
Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & 2 Honor Guard
High Paladin Dartan Vilmon
Paladin of the Order of the Wall
Paladin of the Order of the Wall
The Covenant of Menoth
The Wrack (3 wracks)
Vassal of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth

Leave a Reply

