Blood & Oil Nationals 2010


On Saturday November 6th myself and Tyler are attending our first Warmachine/Hordes tournament.  The Blood & Oil Nationals 2010 is a one day 35pt tournament being held in Leicester, UK. Being run by local club The Leicester Phat Cats and local store Gifts for Geeks this is their first annual tournament.

I will be taking my Protectorate of Menoth and Tyler his Khador.  I wasn’t planning on attending any more tournaments this year, but this one grabbed me as being a good as place to start playing in Warmachine/Hordes tournaments than any other.  Plus we know a few of the players attending from Maelstrom Gaming Nights and Hinckley Adventure Games Society.

It is being held at the home of The Leicester Phat Cats, the Ukranian Church, Livingstone Street in Leicester.  This is where I also attended my first Warhammer Fantasy tournament, The Leicester Squiggle last year.  So the venue is familiar.


My Protectorate of Menoth

War Caster
High Exemplar Kreoss

Heavy Warjacks
Crusader
Reckoner

Light Warjacks
Repenter
Revenger

Units
Choir of Menoth (4 miniatures)
Exemplar Bastions (5 miniatures)

Solos
Paladin of the Order of the Wall
The Covenant of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth


Tyler’s Khador

War Caster
The Butcher of Khardov
with War Dog

Heavy Warjacks
Destroyer
Spriggan
Devastator

Units
Widowmakers (4 miniatures)
Iron Fang Pikemen (6 miniatures)

Solos
Widowmaker Marksmen

With less than two weeks to go, I am hoping to complete painting my Vassal of Menoth and The Covenant of Menoth.  On the playing side I am hoping to get in at least three more games before the tournament.  I especially need to practise my deployment and how I use the Covenant of Menoth and the Exemplar Bastions.  I have yet to get my head around how best to use the Covenant, and the Bastions after three games I have never got them into melee.

So onto the goals for the tournament.  As usual try and avoid last place and have fun.  But most of all.

Play like I have a pair!

Leave a Reply

